Press Clipping
03/01/2016
Article
SXSW 2016

ARTISTS
This year’s SXSW includes a number of faces we’ve seen before including: Diet Cig, Dana Falconberry, Chinah, Powers, Slothruth, Pure Bathing Culture, Moving Panoramas, Oh Pep!, and recently signed to Charli XCX’s label, RIVRS. FEMMUSIC does not like to tread on familiar ground, so we give you profiles of bands and artists you may not have heard of who are playing SXSW this year:

Alexander Jean – https://soundcloud.com/alexander-jean-257077899 – BC Jean & Mark Ballast make up this songwriting duo. They are releasing an EP this year.

Amber Arcades – www.amberarcades.net Annelotte de Graaf assembled the 5 piece band to explore pop beyond what she’d been doing as a solo artist. Tracks from Turning Light have been appearing this year.

Clara Nova – www.clara-nova.com – Clara Nova is a new project by Sydney Wayser, a French American artist. Her new EP The Bronze Age is in development but what we’ve heard is instantly attractive.

Dawn – http://dawnrichardblog.com – Dawn is Dawn Richard, a New Orleans artist, whose new album Dance is a mix of dance and alternative.

FEMME – www.femmehq.co.uk – FEMME is a UK artist who recently released Debutante and is visiting SXSW for the first time. She had a pop electronic sound.

Sara Hartman – www.sara-hartman.com – This young artist is soaring quickly. She is on tour with Ellie Goulding prior to SXSW and her single “Monster Lead Me Home” is on everyone’s lips

Zyna Hel – www.facebook.com/zynahel – Elizabeth Oswell created Zyna Hel as a new solo project. It caught our attention and we do think it will catch yours.

IS Tropical – https://is-tropical.squarespace.com – This UK band is releasing a new album, Black Anything, at the end of this year. The new songs coming forth are hook friendly.

L.E.J. – www.lucie-elisa-juliette.com – Lucie, Elisa & Juliette are a French 3 piece combining pop into different arrangements

Grace Mitchell – www.gracemitchell.com – Portland artist Grace Mitchell starting catching fire last year with her EP Raceday. She is a pop electronic artist with fancy dance moves.

Ocellot – www.facebook.com/ocellotband – This Spanish band released Jelly Beat as a pop electronic sound. They are part of the Spanish revolution at SXSW this year.

Sara Pi – www.facebook.com/sarapimusic – SXSW is a place where the world comes to the US. A couple of years ago a Spanish group, Hinds arrived and spurred a change. This year’s SXSW has many Spanish artists including Sara Pi, an R & B artist with Brazilian beats.

PHASES – www.phasesmusic.com Berg and the other musicians who make up PHASES have been playing in bands for years. They have a free spirit quality to their rock in their album For Life. They will be touring with Maroon 5 later this year.

PMS & the Mood Swings – www.facebook.com/pmsandthemoodswings – This NYC pop punk band continues the long tradition of crude humor and fast rock

Pumarosa – www.facebook.com/pumarosamusic – London 5 piece turned everyone’s heads last year with the release of Priestess. We expect them to do even more this year.

Saint Sister – www.saintsisterband.com – This Dublin band released their Madrid EP earlier this year. They combine traditional Irish Celtic music with 60’s beats.

Eliot Sumner – http://eliotsumner.com – For Eliot Sumner not to go into music would go against the family line (Sting is her father). She recently released Information and is a bold and striking songwriter and arranger who makes us think of Peter Gabriel.

Tacocat – http://tacocatdotcom.com – Last year we caught Tacocat for the first time and were instantly hooked. They are a four piece band that mixes poignant lyrics with humor. Their new album Lost Time comes out in April, when they will be doing a headlining tour.

Tennyson – www.facebook.com/tennysonmusic – Luke Tennyson & Tess Pretty make up this Canadian electronic duo. They are destined for amazing things soon.

The Weather Station – http://the-weather-station.com – Tamara Lindeman is The Weather Station. Her 3rd album is Loyalty. She is touring with Basia Bulat prior to SXSW.

SHOWCASES
Berklee Boston & Beyond Showcase
Berklee: Boston & Beyond SXSW Party – Thursday March 17, 2016 – Brush Square Park – 12-6 pm – All Ages – http://schedule.sxsw.com/2016/events/event_OE05017
Berklee College of Music is hosting its 11th Annual SXSW Party: Boston and Beyond Presented by Heavy Rotation Records, Vanyaland, Berklee Alumni Affairs and The Red Room@ Cafe 939.
For 11 years now Berklee has presented the best emerging artists on stage at SXSW. This year’s lineup includes:
Great Grandpa – http://greatgrandpa.bandcamp.com
IAN – http://eyyunn.bandcamp.com
mar I co – http://wearemarco.com
and Lady Pills – http://ladypillsmusic.bandcamp.com

Rock Paper Scissors Showcase
Rock Paper Scissors has presented showcases at SXSW for years. RPS handles some of the world’s best artists. This year they have only one woman artist, Mai Nimani but will be showcasing her at 2 events:
Wednesday March 16 – FACE Presents Pakistan Showcase – 8pm – www.face.pk
Thursday March 17 – Mai Nimani Showcase – 3pm – International Day Stage – http://schedule.sxsw.com/2016/events/event_MS36285
For additional info on Mai Nimani look at www.rockpaperscissors.biz

Riot Act Media Showcase
Wednesday March 16, 2016 – Riot Act Media Showcase – http://schedule.sxsw.com/events?lsort=venue_all_days&venue=ScratcHouse+Backyard
Riot Act Media handles many artists FEMMUSIC likes to cover. We’ve also covered their SXSW showcase for many years now. This year it includes some new faces. For info visit www.riotactmedia.com
Tangerine – http://tangerineband.com – This Seattle 3 piece has been like a sugar high from first listen. Their album ironically is called Sugar Teeth.
Jess Williamson – www.facebook.com/jesswilliamsonmusic – Williamson released Native State in 2014. It is an introspective piece that awakens the listener.
Dana Falconberry & Medicine Bow – www.danafalconberry.com – Dana is releasing From the Forest Came the Fire this April and has been doing a music tour of national parks.
Mirror Travel – http://mirrortravel.tumblr.com – Mirror Travel is a dream pop band that stood out when we saw them a few years ago. Their new album is Cruise Deal and comes out March 11.
Moving Panoramas – http://movingpanoramas.com – Last year we covered Moving Panoramas release of One.